“His was the Most Human”

Today, I share in the shock and sadness as we say goodbye to a dear friend we might have never met, but one many of us will hold in our hearts forever, Leonard Nimoy. Mr. Nimoy played Spock, my favorite Star Trek character of all time. I cannot tell you how much Mr. Nimoy’s performance has touched my heart. I discovered Leonard Nimoy as Spock when I was thirteen years old and I can tell you that I needed someone like Spock desperately. My mother suffered from untreated bi-polar II, a form of bi-polar marked by mood swings that go from depression to anxiety and/or anger. Needless to say, her emotions were usually out of control and I found myself terrified of her instability, often blaming myself for her behavior.

I found something beautifully safe in Spock. For the most part he was in complete control and that held great appeal for me. Looking back, I realize that the character of Spock, as Mr. Nimoy performed him, was a gift from God for me. It showed me that self-control is possible and desirable because it helps people feel safe. Although I thought my emotions were uncontrollable, Spock gave me a goal to reach for. Now I know that self-control, although not to the degree Spock presented, is something God wants His children to exhibit. Proverbs 16:32 says, “Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city” (NIV). Moreover, Paul tells Timothy, “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (of cowardice, of craven and cringing and fawning fear), but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of calm and well-balanced mind and discipline and self-control” (II Timothy 1:7 AMP). So God used Mr. Nimoy to help set the bar and He himself is showing me how to clear it so others around me can feel safe. Thank you God and thank you Mr. Nimoy, Please agree with me in prayer for Mr. Nimoy’s family and all those who grief his loss. To the whole world of Star Trek fandom I say, “Live long and prosper!”

2 thoughts on ““His was the Most Human”

    1. I felt choked up, too. Of course, Spock probably would shake his head at all our emotionalism ;), at least Nimoy’s Spock would. Quinto’s Spock? Given his reaction to his mother’s death, he would understand perfectly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

