Hello World!

Hi, I’m Ariel Klay, your friendly neighborhood Christian Trekkie. I know it sounds weird. I’ve had fellow Trekkies ask me, “Do you really go to church?” I have also had fellow church goers ask me, “Do you really go to those Star Trek conventions?” To both I’ve said, “Yes.” I have actually found some similarities between Christians and Trekkies. Both groups are united by a common interest. Both groups tend to engage in attempts to make the world a better place. Both groups tend to not be afraid of being different. Both groups tend to be used to being laughed at and regarded as weird. Both groups tend to be idealistic. Both groups tend to give its members a sense of family and belonging. Are their beliefs different? Yes. Many Trekkies I’ve met have been atheistic or agnostic, but I find these people have often been mistreated by those who have called themselves Christians. I feel bad for these Trekkies, but I also feel bad for the ones who hurt them because I believe hurt people hurt people.

Thus my blog. I hope to help Christians and Trekkies understand each other and that the ideals they share are not that far apart at all.

2 thoughts on “Hello World!

  1. Well, I’m not a Trekkie fan. I am however, a Christian and a Harry Potter fan. I think this blog will be of interest to a lot of people. Who says that you cant be a geek and a Christian at the same time! LOL! I always tell people that you can find God in most books you read. Even if the author didn’t intend it to be that way. God has a way of making Himself known even in very unexpected places. Have a very Merry Christmas!

    Like

    1. Thank you for my very first comment!
      Tolkien once wrote that all fairy stories point to the Gospel, the ultimate Fairy Story. He was was clear that he did not consider the Gospel to be a work of fiction, instead that it contained all the elements of a good fairy story, good vs. evil, the hero’s journey. Anyway, I consider sci-fi to be today’s take on the fairy tale. Well, thank you for the feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

